The Woodroffe School

Governing Body

Together We Succeed

Governing Body

The governing board is the school’s legally accountable body and must operate in the best interests of the school. The task of the governing board is to lead the school strategically, focusing on the three core functions set out below.

The board may delegate functions to individual governors, the Headteacher (in certain circumstances) and committees of the board, but it remains accountable and is responsible for all decisions made.

The Woodroffe School governing body consists of 14 governors:

  • 4 parent governors
  • 1 local authority governor
  • The head teacher
  • 1 staff governor
  • 5 co-opted governors
  • 2 partnership governors

We currently have one governor vacancy: 1 Partnership Governor, please see the Vacancies page for further details.

Parent governors are elected by parents/carers or, if there are insufficient candidates, appointed by the governing body. Local authority governors are – as the name suggests – appointed by the local authority. Staff governors are elected by the school staff. The governing body seeks nominations for partnership governors from parents and carers and others in the community with an interest in the school. The governing body appoints, as co-opted governors, people who have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

If you are interested in becoming a governor for The Woodroffe School and would like further information please do contact the Clerk to Governors by email –

The governing body has the following committees:
  • The Finance & Premises Committee
  • The Standards, Staffing and Curriculum Committee
  • The Headteacher’s Performance Review Committee
  • Pay & Pay Review Committee

The Finance & Premises committee are responsible for monitoring the school’s income and expenditure against the approved budget and all matters relating to the building and grounds including health and safety.

The Standards, Staffing and Curriculum Committee monitors the quality of teaching, standards and progress achieved by pupils. It monitors the staffing structure and has oversight of the school curriculum and timetable, including how the curriculum is taught, evaluated and resourced.

The Head Teacher’s Performance Review Committee considers the headteacher’s performance against objectives set for the year, in conjunction with the School Evaluation Partner (an experienced school leader or senior LA adviser).

The Pay and Pay Review Committee reviews the school pay policies and receives recommendations from the Headteacher on the pay of teaching and support staff.

Governors are also invited to attend a School Improvement Group. This is a working group that provides advice and guidance to the Head and the senior leadership team and also monitors school actions against the aims and targets set out in the School Learning Plan.

Chair of the Governors  
Meeri Wallace  
Vice-Chair of the Governors  
Vicki Dixon  
Parent GovernorsAppointedExpiry of Office
Ian Jennings02.03.202301.03.2027
Christopher Newall06.09.202105.09.2025
Emma Styles30.03.202329.03.2027
Phil Whitehead08.03.202307.03.2027
Local Authority Governor  
Vicki Dixon15.12.202114.12.2025
Staff Governor  
Charlotte Lemon16.10.202315.10.2027
The Headteacher  
Dan WattsSeptember 2019 
Partnership Governors  
Dr John Deary25.03.202024.03.2024
Co-opted Governors  
Dave Barker06.09.202105.09.2025
Irena Campion21.09.202220.09.2026
Mat Daly01.04.200626.01.2027
Bijan Omrani15.12.202114.12.2024
Meeri Wallace21.09.202220.09.2026
Clerk to the Governors  
Mrs M Oldfield  

For further information, or to contact the governing body please email:

Full Governors
  • Dan Watts
  • Meeri Wallace
  • Mat Daly
  • John Deary
  • Dave Barker
  • Chris Newall
  • Bijan Omrani
  • Vicki Dixon
  • Phil Whitehead
  • Ian Jennings
  • Emma Styles
  • Irena Campion
  • Charlotte Lemon
Finance & Premises Committee
  • John Deary (Chair)
  • Chris Newall (Vice Chair)
  • Dave Barker
  • Mat Daly
  • Ian Jennings
  • Meeri Wallace
  • Dan Watts
Standards, Staffing & Curriculum Committee
  • Bijan Omrani (Chair)
  • Vicki Dixon (Vice Chair)
  • Paul Whitehead
  • Emma Styles
  • Irena Campion
  • Meeri Wallace
  • Dan Watts
  • Charlotte Lemon
Headteacher’s Performance Review Committee
  • Dave Barker
  • Vicki Dixon
Pay & Pay Review Committee
  • Meeri Wallace
  • John Deary
  • Chris Newall
  • Dan Watts
Attendance at Meetings

Governors with relevant business and pecuniary interests which may arise from relationships between governors and school staff:

  • Emma Styles – employee at Colyton Grammar School – 2016.
  • Meeri Wallace – Treasurer for Hawkchurch Community Shop – 2014
  • Christopher Newall – Directorship, Specsavers – 2004
  • Phil Whitehead – Phil Whitehead Ltd, educational consultancy – 2011; DSB International School, Mumbai, Consultant/recruitment – 2009
  • Bijan Omrani – Shute Festival, Co-Director – 2016; St Michaels Church, Shute, Churchwarden & Trustee – 2018; University of Exeter, Hon Assistant Research Fellow – 2020
  • Vicki Dixon – Lyme Regis Society, Trustee – 2013
Scroll to Top